A/P not balancing - Allocation falling off transaction
  • teaspoon
    A/P not balancing - Allocation falling off transaction

by teaspoon » Thu Dec 01, 2016 4:08 pm

Hi all,

Every month, I have to go through a manual process of establishing variance between GL and A/P ledger. The cause is the allocation falls off a couple invoices every month.

Can this be automatically fixed by repair?

I am relatively new in my role and the Administrator doesn't care. Looking to build relationships and work on system improvements for our business.
  • COBS Tech Support

by COBS Tech Support » Mon Dec 05, 2016 10:46 am

The reason why you are experiencing variances is that your security is likely too loose. Users should have time based security restrictions on what they can do in the past. I.e., if they are allowed to amend supplier transactions for up to 30 days in the past and then you roll forward after the 30 day period -- then there should not be variances. More likely users are inputting transactions several months in the past, which then throws out the running balance moving forward. If you must allow that, you must also re-run the End Period Wizard for the affected months. There are also certain complex scenarios where restricting security access for certain users is not practical, as you may not have the correct information on what occurred at the time, until several months into the future.
  • teaspoon

A/P Costing - Transaction Allocation Falling Off

by teaspoon » Wed Jan 04, 2017 8:37 am

Hi COBS,

Thanks for your reply. I can confirm that problems with transactions are happening within the previous 30 day period.

Again this month end, there were 3 invoices that had $0.00 costing allocated.

I'm not concerned so much with the problem, its the time taken to manually fix this every month. My goal for 2017 is to halve EOM timetable so looking to eliminate as many manual processes as possible.
  • COBS Tech Support

by COBS Tech Support » Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:22 pm